Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Libertine82

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 15, 2016
Hi, I just thought I would write something regards the new MacBook, I have been reading these forums ever since the new MacBook was announced. I kinda wish I didn't as I have spent hours looking at the battery meter, checking the chaise of the Mac for manufacturing scratches etc rather than just using the machine.

My background, I work in IT, trained in Microsoft, last laptop was an 11" Alienware, so its safe to say I'm not a fan boy when it comes to one company or another. I would have a caveat that I have had an iPhone since the 3g and I would say I am biased to apple when it comes to phones and tablets.

I've now had the MacBook since the first week in January, a fair time to garner an opinion of it. First of all, this is by far the most aesthetically pleasing laptop I have ever seen, it makes my Alienware look like something from the 90's (yes I appreciate the fact it houses a powerful graphics card). I got the nTB version, I do kinda wish it had Touch ID but hey ho. In my work there are a lot of XPS dells, they do not come close to the build quality or premium look. Also, the OS is so smooth compared to windows (windows 10 is a an improvement but some of the changes especially on server version just annoy me), no waiting for applications to load at start up, log in and you are good to go instantly. The screen and speakers are amazing for a machine of this size, thats not hyperbole, I was dismissive of Macs and thought they were dumbed down machines, I admit I was very wrong in this regard.

I see a lot of comments on here bemoaning the fact this machine isn't pro, but I really dont understand that term, a professional writer could see a Chromebook as pro machine just using a word processor, if the machine does the job you need it to then its a pro machine to you.