Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

emaja

macrumors 68000
Original poster
May 3, 2005
Chicago, IL
I am looking for a dSLR and want to get a good starter kit together. I have decided on the digital Rebel XT due to cost and size, but want to know what else to get to round out my setup.

I have never used an SLR of any kind before and do not want to overlook anything. I will not likely be taking action shots. I anticipate mostly flowers, landscapes, and other nature shots, architectural pictures, and a few portraits here and there. I will likely be printing some myself with an HP 3310 all in one, but sometimes will send out for prints from mpix.com. I just want a place to start equipment wise.

Go easy on me. I am new and want to keep the price reasonable. I do not know were this will lead and can always get new glass later. If I can get a much better basic kit with other pieces, please let me know, but keep the price in the "reasonable" range. At this point I am looking for value, not the best possible lens. If I am being foolish there, please let me know.

I was going to get the Rebel body only and add the Tamron kit that B&H has. It is the 28-80 f/3.5-5.6 and a 70-300 f/4-5.6 and leave behind the 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 kit lens - unless you guys think it is worth having around.

Is the Canon EF 50/1.8 lens worth having for portraits? I hear it is an excellent value lens to have for the $79.

Add a few 58mm and 62mm Hoya filters like these, an extra battery - or two - a bag, lens cleaner, memory card, and lens/filter pouches.

Did I miss anything - obvious or not? Am I shooting too high or too low? Am I wasting any money here?

With the body and the three lenses mentioned, I am sitting at $950. I want to bring this all in under $1200 is possible.

emaja

macrumors 68000
Original poster
May 3, 2005
Chicago, IL
I was hoping that you would chime in iGary. Thanks.