Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JakeN488

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 4, 2006
As the title states I am new to digital photography (well photography in any sense really :rolleyes:). I recently purchased a Nikon D60 and have been using the kit 18-55mm lens. What I've noticed is that out of the hundreds of photos I've taken I'm only happy with a handful of them. I'm looking for some C&C/Advice.

All images are clickable.

3637695468_8b6c286d10_b.jpg

3688379040_a15ebc094c_b.jpg

3639109581_cc70eb7523_b.jpg

For the most part I haven't experimented with staging and setting up frames, rather I've been shooting what I'm encountering.
I also just started playing with Apple's Aperture. (as you could prob tell)

3623855779_82ac4bf597_b.jpg

3624668478_76546fe227_b.jpg

3869537368_c797e1e9b1_b.jpg

3797388462_747b146dbe_b.jpg

3797787686_3015aaa953_b.jpg

Thanks!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/jaken7/

CrackedButter

macrumors 68040
Jan 15, 2003
51st State of America
I like them for what they are as snapshots. Keep shooting is my advice, it is what all photographers should be doing all the time, I shoot the same thing everyday in order to get to understand my subject matter better.

telecomm

macrumors 65816
Nov 30, 2003
Rome
I'm pretty far from a expert on these things, but I think your photos look pretty good. There are a few areas where the highlights are blown on the last two (in the clouds), but other than that I think they came out pretty well!

Acsom

macrumors regular
Jul 10, 2009
What I've noticed is that out of the hundreds of photos I've taken I'm only happy with a handful of them.