Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mikey79

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 2, 2009
Hi gang. I am new here.

I need to buy a good camera for my cousin in Russia. Iam having a hard time to deside on what to get for him. Here are my choices

Canon Xti $aprox 500 w/ a lens
Nikon D40 $aporx 340 w/ a lense
Nikon D60 $ aprox 500 w/ a lense

He doesn't know whole a lot about photography neither do I. All I know he has been looking to buy a semi professional camera.

Here is what I am looking for (any comments welcome) a good quality/reliability camera that makes good pictures and clicks fast.

Also since he is in Russia, my question is, does it comes w/ a Russian translation manual, also does it need any specific software to operate. Like I said I don't know anything about this stuff, just looking to buy him a nice present.

Hierotochan

macrumors member
Feb 25, 2008
Go for the Canon,

I've been a photographer for 10 years & I'd never go back to Nikon.
They are robust & hold their value well.

Mikey79

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 2, 2009
I really want to buy him Canon, it's just a bit pricey. the cheapest deal i could find is $450.

svndmvn

Nov 6, 2007
Italy
I know you wouldn't like this kind of suggestion, but try looking for a good Pentax/Sony/Olympus as well..
a Pentax K10D for instance, I believe they're weather sealed, I just thought about it reading Russia, they take great pictures as well, while the ones you asked about are more for starters, I believe. Either way, anything you choose should be just fine.

jaseone

macrumors 65816
Nov 7, 2004
Houston, USA
Can't comment much on the Canon but the main difference between the D40 and the D60 is that the D60 has a higher megapixel count, which is not going to be an issue unless your cousin plans on printing a lot of large format stuff over about 8"x10" so unless that is the case I would recommend the D40.