Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nhaque

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 21, 2008
Hi all, I've decided to step up to dslr, the Nikon d60. I'm looking for an all-in-one lens for it, and since I'm totally new to the whole photography business, I want to keep the price as reasonable as possible.

I'm thinking of getting the Sigma 28-70mm F2.8-4 DG and would likely make a trip down to the US and A to get it, since the price there is much cheaper (I believe it's around 100USD down there?) while in Canada it's 200CAN.

I think I'll just be shooting normal pictures (like a point and shoot) not macro or tele or anything, so does this lens suit my needs? Any suggestion is greatly appreciated, as I am totally new to photography and would really like to learn more.

leighonigar

macrumors 6502a
May 5, 2007
Hi all, I've decided to step up to dslr, the Nikon d60. I'm looking for an all-in-one lens for it, and since I'm totally new to the whole photography business, I want to keep the price as reasonable as possible.

I'm thinking of getting the Sigma 28-70mm F2.8-4 DG and would likely make a trip down to the US and A to get it, since the price there is much cheaper (I believe it's around 100USD down there?) while in Canada it's 200CAN.

I think I'll just be shooting normal pictures (like a point and shoot) not macro or tele or anything, so does this lens suit my needs? Any suggestion is greatly appreciated, as I am totally new to photography and would really like to learn more.