Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

txhockey9404

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 25, 2008
First, let me introduce my level of photographic knowledge; I have owned digital point and shoot cameras from their 2 megapixel days through today, and have just purchased a new DSLR. I thought I knew what I was doing, but there are now so many settings on this new camera that I am somewhat overwhelmed. While I am a newbie to this new breed of cameras, I am certainly not a newbie to photography or this forum.

I purchased the Canon EOS Rebel XS since this is my first of this type, and they are certainly not cheap in comparison to my previous cameras. I have the camera body, the standard 18-55IS lens, the battery, the charger, and a 4gb SD card. I plan to use this camera mainly for amateur hockey games (I know I need a different lens. Any suggestions would be awesome) as well as some family portraits and vacation photos. I think I have the basic photos down, but I really need help with the hockey portion.

Also, I currently have iPhoto 08, GIMP, Photoshop Express (online), and the Canon utilities on the software side. Is there anything else I need (preferably under $150USD)? I will not be getting Photoshop CS4 simply because it is complete overkill for me, but have been looking at Photoshop Elements and possibly Aperture 2 if I find a significant difference between that and iPhoto. Please keep in mind that this is nothing more than a hobby. I really do not plan on becoming a photographer.

So, thanks for reading this ridiculously long post, and any help in choosing lenses, accessories, and software, as well as general shooting advice is much appreciated!

miles01110

macrumors Core
Jul 24, 2006
The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)