Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kimberlygfeller

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 8, 2009
Hello there, i'm new to these boards, but they have so far been very fun to stalk! lol

I am a young photographer and I am just starting out...building up my portfolio. In the next several weeks I am going to have a few newborn photo shoots that will take place in their homes.

If any of you have done newborn shoots before, do you have any tips for me?

I definitely want to take naked pics but how do you keep little lads from peeing everywhere?

My main question is with the lighting. What kind of lighting should I set up? I know I can do a lot with the natural light, like from a window, etc. But if it is a cloudy day, should I just set up a softbox? As of right now, I do not have any lighting equipment, because I do all of my shoots outdoors. So, I need to know what to purchase, how to set it up, etc.

I understand this might be a lot, but if anyone could help me, I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks :)

Mousse

macrumors 68040
Apr 7, 2008
Flea Bottom, King's Landing
If any of you have done newborn shoots before, do you have any tips for me?

Not for money. I've only done newborn photos of my kids. They're asleep most of the time, so forget trying to pose them unless you have Mom holding the ankle-biter. If Mom has unslightly hands and arms, have an aunt with attractive hands/arms holding the baby. I usually want to capture the emotional connection between mother and child.

I definitely want to take naked pics but how do you keep little lads from peeing everywhere?

There are pee-pee tee-pees available at Babies 'R Us and the other baby stores.