Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Brian Clifford

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 23, 2016
I am a newbie about to take the leap for the very first time from Windows to Mac with the purchase of a 2nd. Gen. MacBook Pro expected around December 2017.

My questions are if I wish to download videos wirelessly from iCloud via the MacBook Pro to a HDTV, or playback videos from the Macbook Pro directly to a HDTV what will I need apart from the MacBook Pro and iCloud?

Also, as an alternative to wireless playback, would readers consider a HDMI connection between the MacBook Pro and the HDTV, or simply using DVDs an easier way forward?

I should add I want to benefit from all Hardware and Software being within the Apple ecosystem, if possible.

Stefan johansson

macrumors 65816
Apr 13, 2017
Sweden
Wireless playback require a TV set with wifi or Bluetooth,. If you don't already have that,a HDMI cable with necessary adapter ( some cables have adapters for macs included) will be a much cheaper choice.

Reactions: Brian Clifford

ColdCase

macrumors 68040
Feb 10, 2008
NH
You need a HDTV that supports airplay (I don't know of any), or an Apple TV box connected to the TV via HDMI. We use Apple TV boxes as I didn't want to be subject to the whims of smart HDTV manufactures. You can also connect the Mac directly to the TV via an HDMI cable or wireless HDMI boxe$.

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201343

Last edited:

Brian Clifford

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 23, 2016
You need a HDTV that supports airplay (I don't know of any), or an Apple TV box connected to the TV via HDMI. We use Apple TV boxes as I didn't want to be subject to the whims of smart HDTV manufactures. You can also connect the Mac directly to the TV via an HDMI cable or wireless HDMI boxe$.

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201343

Thanks very much for that information ColdCase.

joema2

macrumors 68000
Sep 3, 2013