Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MadDoc

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Apr 25, 2005
UK
Hi,

I have the D60 kit with the 18-55mm and 55-200mm AF-S VR lenses. I'm new to photography and having a whale of a time.

I am wondering what people think of the 18-200mm AF-S VR lens by Nikon. The biggest annoyance I have with my camera is I often get caught short only having one lens on me and I'm wondering if I would be better of getting a wide-ranging lens like this one.

Has anyone used this lens? Are there are obvious problems with it? Is it greater than the sum of it's parts (i.e. the 2 lenses I already own)?

Thanks,

MadDoc,

Digital Skunk

macrumors G3
Dec 23, 2006
In my imagination

It will be better than the sum of your lenses, and it's sharp as a tack. It's by far the best super tele you can get that also has VR to compensate for that nasty variable aperture.

The only downside I have with it is the reach. When you extend it to the tele end the lens shoots out about another 8" or more.

eddx

macrumors regular
May 12, 2005
Manchester, UK
The 18-200 has been known to "creep" in certain models - this is where the front element is so heavy that the lens extends to the 200mm point when pointed down.

Apart from that it is a fantastic lens. I can't recommend it enough.

You only other option would be to buy a second camera body (maybe a second hand D40x or D80) - then you wouldn't need to swap the two lenses. Of course then you wouldn't have the great advantage of VR

Westside guy

macrumors 603
Oct 15, 2003
The soggy side of the Pacific NW
I have the 18-200 as well, and like it a lot. With my lens, the "creep" issue is only if the camera is pretty much pointing straight up or straight down - so it's not usually an issue for me.