Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

phototrix

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 2, 2009
hi, so i've been researching for a while now and have read the differences between the 2 but still wasn't quite sure whether to get a Nikon D40 with 2 lenses or a Nikon D80 with one lens for the same price.

I had a D40 about a year ago to take to NY to shoot up the city and I really liked it, small, easy to use, etc. I'm a pretty serious photographer and have taken a couple years of classes in school and such.

So am looking for one of the 2 and can't really decide because I could always just upgrade the body in a couple of years and still have my lenses or just go for the better body now and get lenses in the future.

INPUT PLEASE!!
:)
thanks a bunch

the lenses for the D40 would be a 18-55 and 55-200 vs just a 18-55 with the D80

Chandler Adaway

macrumors 6502a
Jun 29, 2008
Beaumont, TX
I own a D40 with the kit lens and a 55-200, and trust me, you will be SO much happier with the D80.

There are so many quality issues with the D40.
Not picture quality, but like the AF sucks, and if your in low light and you can't/don't want to use flash, your screwed.

Here are some of my pictures taken with it.

Gallery.

jaseone

macrumors 65816
Nov 7, 2004
Houston, USA
Right off the cuff I would say go for the D80, however with your mention of the 55-200 I have to wonder what kind of photography are you planning? Is the lack of the telephoto going to hinder you?

The D80 is significantly better than the D40 in some respects like it has a focusing motor on the body so it is possible to use autofocus on a wider range of lenses and I believe the D80 is much better in low light, however like I said if you need the zoom on the 55-200 then that should be a deciding factor.

peapody

macrumors 68040
Oct 7, 2007
San Francisco, CA