Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Phatpat

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 15, 2003
Cambridge, MA
I think I'm about to pull the trigger and buy a D50 from Ritz Camera online, along with the 1 year service plan. I'm just looking for some thoughts on this before I make the purchase, more on if it's the right place to buy it and if the warranty is a good call than if it's a good camera. This is my first time buying a DSLR.

Thanks in advance.

nbs2

macrumors 68030
Mar 31, 2004
A geographical oddity
I think I'm about to pull the trigger and buy a D50 from Ritz Camera online, along with the 1 year service plan. I'm just looking for some thoughts on this before I make the purchase, more on if it's the right place to buy it and if the warranty is a good call than if it's a good camera. This is my first time buying a DSLR.

Thanks in advance.

I wouldn't. If you are sure that you want to buy from Ritz (I suppose that their protection plan is the most comprehensive on the market), I would go into their BM store. There has to be a Ritz/Wolf/some other subsidiary near you.

The problem is that if you have any issues, the plan contract specifies that you need to deal with ritzcamera.com, and cannot utilize it by going into a store. To me, that is a disadvantage....

Buschmaster

macrumors 65816
Feb 12, 2006
Minnesota

Thanks in advance.
First time buying a DSLR? Make sure to get the Nikkor lens rather than the Quantaray! I think it's $550 with the Nikkor, or something close to that...

Like suggested above, the stores have to be close to you.

Edit: Sorry, it's $599.

Phatpat

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 15, 2003
Cambridge, MA
Yeah, I'm planning on getting the 18-55 Nikkor kit. It's $549 from ritz, which should come to close to $500 after paypal coupons and ebates.com cash back. Going to the retail store will cost closer to $600 after tax, so I don't think it's worth it.

Curren~Sea