Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macdaddy121

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 8, 2003
Georgia
Does anyone know of a good telephoto lense for the d50. I am new to this whole thing and it is somewhat confusing. Price Range: 300-600 usd. Thanks.

Silentwave

macrumors 68000
May 26, 2006
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6D ED AF is always a good choice, though in your price range i'd suggest something better...faster aperture and better optical quality, though size gets bigger. You might be able to pick up a used copy of the Nikon 80-200mm f/2.8 AF, or a good used copy of the very good Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 EX HSM APO (don't bother with the DG, its way more expensive and its only difference is a different lens coating), which due to its HSM motor (like nikon's AF-S) has very fast silent focusing.

macdaddy121

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 8, 2003
Georgia
Silentwave said:
Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6D ED AF is always a good choice, though in your price range i'd suggest something better...faster aperture and better optical quality, though size gets bigger. You might be able to pick up a used copy of the Nikon 80-200mm f/2.8 AF, or a good used copy of the very good Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 EX HSM APO (don't bother with the DG, its way more expensive and its only difference is a different lens coating), which due to its HSM motor (like nikon's AF-S) has very fast silent focusing.

Is there a website you recommend for finding used camera equiptment? Used equiptment always makes me nervous, but if you can trust it to be a good product then you can normally save a good deal.

efoto

macrumors 68030
Nov 16, 2004
Cloud 9 (-6)
macdaddy121 said:
Is there a website you recommend for finding used camera equiptment? Used equiptment always makes me nervous, but if you can trust it to be a good product then you can normally save a good deal.