Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

earthbound

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 12, 2007
I will be studying abroad in Japan starting this September and I really can't bring myself to go there without a good camera. I do have a P&S that I got for free from my uncle (HP Photosmart R817 with 5.1MP) which I don't think is going to cut it. I've only gotten into photography only recently and I can't say I know much about it though I have gotten several chances to use a dSLR. Either way, I'm looking for something entry to mid level since I'm just starting out.

But here's the thing: I can't spend too much money on this (frugality is important when you'll be living in Tokyo for 6 months) so I'm thinking of the 12-month financing that Amazon has for either Nikon D60 + 1 kit lens (VR) or Nikon D40 + 2 kit lenses (non-VR). They cost about the same at ~$640. I know I will be buying the 50mmf/1.8D, but I really can't decide between these two choices. I like having the extra lens, but is D40 too outdated?

And lastly, is financing a bad idea? Is it better for me to take out a student loan to pay for this purchase?

Thank you in advance.

epicwelshman

macrumors 6502a
Apr 6, 2006
Nassau, Bahamas
Honestly... it's better to pay in cash with no loans whatsoever.

However I know that's not always possible. Can anyone more knowledgeable than me say whether prices would be cheaper in Japan? If so it may be worth waiting till you get there.

earthbound

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 12, 2007
I know cash is always better, and I wish I can pay up front, but the only way I can have the dSLR and take it to Japan is either take the financing or the loan. Financing (which is thankfully 12 months no interest no payment) or the loan (no payment and no interest accrued until I graduate) give me the option of paying it off when I'm back from Japan in six months :(