Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

EmanuelCo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 28, 2009
Hey,

I'm not a very advanced photographer or anything, I'm a graphic designer that needed a good camera to take nicer pictures than with a pocket digital camera :)

I'm looking to buy a macro lens for my D60, but I really don't have a big budget. I was thinking of buying an older lens, no auto focus no nothing, I don't mind working in full "M" mode. I already have a an old zoom/close focus lens (Vivitar 58mm / 75-300mm 1:5:6) which fits and works nicely (in M mode) but I'm looking a real macro lens..

My question would be which makes to look for, and more importantly, how do I make sure it will fit the D60 body...

Thanks!

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
Hey,

I'm not a very advanced photographer or anything, I'm a graphic designer that needed a good camera to take nicer pictures than with a pocket digital camera :)

I'm looking to buy a macro lens for my D60, but I really don't have a big budget. I was thinking of buying an older lens, no auto focus no nothing, I don't mind working in full "M" mode. I already have a an old zoom/close focus lens (Vivitar 58mm / 75-300mm 1:5:6) which fits and works nicely (in M mode) but I'm looking a real macro lens..

My question would be which makes to look for, and more importantly, how do I make sure it will fit the D60 body...

Thanks!

The manual will say which Nikon lenses will not fit your camera- generally designs where the rear element protrudes back and the mirror would hit it. I'm relatively sure that doesn't include any macro lenses- so anything that's an F-mount lens, which means not made for a Nikon rangefinder, and manufactured from about 1958 onwards minus half a dozen or so designs where the rear element protrudes.