Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ofe1kanofee

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 8, 2008
I owned a Nikon D40x and loved it, however i lost it and am replacing it. I am an amateur photographer and am only going to be using one lens with the D80 and two lens with the D60. The fact that the D60 has a much limited variety of lens' doesn't affect me. I love how simple and easy the D40x was and i want a similar camera. Is image quality better in the D80 than the D60? I also am not going to be using any of the extra features on the D80. The main thing i want to know is if the image quality is better on the D80 or if its the same.

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
Essentially, you're not likely to see a difference, and if you were happy with the D40x, you should be equally happy with the D60- you may have to do a touch more sharpening, or change the default settings to get pictures that look the same, but outside of that it's close to the same camera (a little more processing to make things more neutral like the higher-end bodies, which most amateurs hate.)

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
I owned a Nikon D40x and loved it, however i lost it and am replacing it. I am an amateur photographer and am only going to be using one lens with the D80 and two lens with the D60. The fact that the D60 has a much limited variety of lens' doesn't affect me. I love how simple and easy the D40x was and i want a similar camera. Is image quality better in the D80 than the D60? I also am not going to be using any of the extra features on the D80. The main thing i want to know is if the image quality is better on the D80 or if its the same.

I don't under stand were you say "using one lens with the D80 and two lens with the D60".