Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mthao00

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 24, 2007
I'm fairly new to the art we call photography. haha... After spending many years with a point and shoot, I decided to purchase the "kind of old" but highly regarded Nikon D80 with the kit 18-135mm lens. I got it for a good price.

I'm looking for some recommendations regarding bags, tripods, and other "must have Dslr" accessories... You know, the little things... No recommendations regarding lens because I want to get better at what I have before purchasing anything. However, I do plan on purchasing the 50mm 1.8 (don't have the cash for a 1.4) and maybe a 18-200mm VR in the distant future.

Your recommendations are just recommendations. I'll take them into consideration and purchase them when the funds are available :)

Thanks, mT :apple:

kidkaprie

macrumors member
Mar 17, 2008
Philadelphia, PA
I too have the D80 w/ 18-135 lens.

I recently purchased the Tamrac Velcoity 7x as my "small bag". It holds my camera, another small lens, and an SB-800 flash unit.

as far as other things, i too would like to know what other type of accessories to get...

alecmcmahon

macrumors regular
May 18, 2007
Woodbridge, NJ
def. pick up a sb-600, or 2 or 3...

it makes the world of difference over the built in flash, and best of all you can control the sb-600(or 800) off camera via the Commander mode that is already built in to your d80.

TimJim

macrumors 6502a
May 15, 2007
-4Gb SD (or 8)
-Extra battery isn't really needed on a D80, it's battery life is superb. But since yours is used and the battery might be a bit warn down, maybe buy another.
-Nice tripod.

TimJim

macrumors 6502a
May 15, 2007
how many shots are you getting out of one charge? i think im close to 1000. is that normal?