Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

urbandreamer

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 26, 2008
Hello, i am an beginner in the digital slr world but i do not want to waste my money on a camera that will not last or does not have the features that i need, what i am deciding on is a nikon d80 body only and a nikon 18-200 lens, but i am wondering if this would be a good all around lens for all situations and would my wife be able to handle this, also will it autofocus? i will be using this camera for everything, nature, urban landscape, and family pictures, please help.

:confused:

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
Punctuation is a lost art. :(

The D80 is a perfect choice for someone who would like to take advantage of newish technology alongside of a nice price tag. The 18-200 lens is a consumer-grade all around lens. Meaning, you will find some really fantastic photos out of it but at it's widest wide and it's longest length you'll see deterioration of quality. This happens in most lenses that try to couple super wide with super-ish zoom. The 18-200 is adequate, passable, tolerable, fine for general photography. I seriously doubt you'll be sad and your prints will be quite nice if you focus right. Yes, it has auto focus as well.

Your wife should be fine handling this. The body+lens will be slightly heavier than I think either of you are accustomed to, but it's manageable as a walk-around lens. This is a good starter lens. If you wind up getting more into it you'll soon replace it with a mid-range zoom and a super wide no doubt. Either way, you really cannot go wrong with that D80 Kit.

iBookG4user

macrumors 604
Jun 27, 2006
Seattle, WA