Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

br.avery

macrumors regular
Original poster
Dec 1, 2008
I'm an aspiring photographer, I've been a model since I was 12, represented by The Campbell Agency in Texas, one of the top five agencies. I'm 17 and really have a passion for photography, now I was wondering if the Nikon D90 would be good to start off with. I'll be shooting headshots for other models and fashion photography. I'm pretty good with photoshop also.

What all do I need to start?
A camera, A MacBook (Which I already have), Software (What kind?) and just let me know other stuff that I might need to become a successful photographer.

I'm also pretty good with web design so I can build my own website.

Qwest905

macrumors 6502
Sep 12, 2007
proof of u as a model? lol

and yea d90 is a nice camera from what i hear

Apr 10, 2007
the D90 is a awesome camera, I just got one in october and I love it.

But if I was you and I was just starting out I would just pick up a older model, like a D40, and use the extra money to get some lenses.

software wise photoshop should be fine, thats pretty much all I use, rarely Ill use a HDR program like photomatix, but for what your doing you shouldn't need to do anything with HDR.

thomahawk

macrumors 6502a
Sep 3, 2008
Osaka, Japan
lightroom and aperture are great apps for you to use when importing new photos from high-end cameras like the D90, personally i'd tone down to the d80 unless you plan to shoot HD video with that thing.

Phrasikleia

macrumors 601
Feb 24, 2008
Over there------->
Why is it relevant for us to know that you're a model in a top-five agency?

I second the suggestion to choose good glass over an expensive camera body. But if you can afford both, all the better. The D90 is a terrific camera. It it had been out when I was in the market, I'd own one myself.

Mac-Addict

macrumors 65816
Aug 30, 2006
London