Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mattcube64

macrumors 65816
Original poster
May 21, 2006
Missouri
Hey guys!

I've had a good interest in photography for a long while, and love taking pictures quite a bit. I've always eyed getting an DSLR, especially after using them quite a bit when I was the editor of my HS paper.

Well, now I'm a sophomore at Mizzou, and am thinking of possibly moving my journalism major to photo-J. Now, of course, this gives me a good excuse to get myself a pretty good camera.

I've looked at all the options out there, and with my bigger hands I've found Nikon's and Sony's body offerings feel much better in my hand. I've looked at their lens offerings, and both companies have just about everything I'd eventually like getting.

HOWEVER... for a while I've been wanting to get a Canon HF10 (I'm minoring in film studies :p ) My mom said she might be able to help me with the purchase for my birthday.

But, with the release of the D90, I'm curious if I could use the video mode (HD, variety of lenses, etc) to replace the need for a HF10...

So, it kinda comes down to this. I either buy a Sony Alpha a300 in the next couple months for around $600 (This is my favorite "cheap" body) and get myself a Canon HF10 a little bit later. *OR*, I just wait a little bit, and spend a bit more, kill two birds with one stone, and get the D90.

What do you guys think?

NRose8989

macrumors 6502a
Feb 6, 2008