Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Erendiox

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Oct 15, 2004
Brooklyn NY
Hey all,

I think I'm finally going to make the jump to digital after a long time with film. It costs so much for processing and digital transfers these days, it's forcing me to shoot less and less with my wonderful antique film cameras. Anyway, I'm a bit torn between the D90 and the D300. The D90 is probably right where I want the price to be and has great reviews and an up to date digital sensor. I couldn't ignore, however, the near flawless reviews that I keep reading for the D300.

Through my job I can snag the D90 body for a little under $800. I can get the D300 body for around $1200. I guess my question is whether or not the extra $400 that I spend on the D300 is money well spent. I'm hardly new to cameras, but I am new to DSLRs. On the one hand, there's nothing to be disappointed about with the D90's features because it would be my first digital camera. Maybe I'm overdoing it with the D300, especially since I don't even have any Nikon lenses yet. Still, I can't shake the thought that if I'm going to sink money into a nice DSLR, I should go for the gusto.

So in a nutshell, for an experienced film shooter who wants to make his way into the world of digital, what would you recommend more? D90 or D300? I'm open to other suggestions as well, but these are the two that I'm most taken with at the moment.

Thanks in advance!

Cliff3

macrumors 68000
Nov 2, 2007
SF Bay Area