Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SOLLERBOY

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 8, 2008
UK
Hi, I am relatively new to DSLR photography (6 months or so). I own a D40 with 18-55mm kit lens and am starting to fell hindered.(settings are a pain to change and lens isn't everything I need)

I am currently taking Photography A level and am in the middle of a night project. I will be traveling to New York City in about 4 weeks and need something nippy to take with me. It needs to be fast and good at taking handheld night shots as both the empire state and rockerfeller centre won't allow tri-pods.

I know I am restricted by the lack of Af motor in the D40 so would a camera upgrade to say the D90 be more plausible than getting a lens?

any advice/suggestions/tips will be greatly appreciated.

rogersmj

macrumors 68020
Sep 10, 2006
Indianapolis, IN
I recently went through the same thought process and decided I'm going to sell my D40 shortly and get a D90. Either you spend ~$440 on the 50mm f/1.4 AF-S that will work with the D40 (or ~$350 for the 30mm Sigma), or you can spend a little more now (after selling your D40) and get a D90 which will work with pretty much any lens you want to buy, ever. Lots of the AF-D lenses are less expensive than their AF-S counterparts. Plus, the D90 is a heck of a lot more camera with a newer generation sensor than the D40. If you're able to spend the money, I'd do it because it will really open up your options for glass and work out better in the long run.

Consultant

macrumors G5
Jun 27, 2007
50mm f/1.4 or f1.8 if you have a smaller budget.

There is a 35mm f/2D

Perhaps a monopod?

rogersmj

macrumors 68020
Sep 10, 2006
Indianapolis, IN
the 50mm's dont autofocus with the d40 do they? just the £300 one.

No, they don't. Only the $440 one I mentioned autofocuses on the D40 -- the 50mm AF-S f/1.4.