Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

theNIC

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 8, 2009
I'm trying to upgrade my camera from a Sony CyberShot DSC-S650 to a nicer one, and was wondering if a Nikon N60 with the following specs would an upgrade, or a waste of money:

Quantaray 28-80 mm, 1:3.5-5.6
Sigma 75-200mm, 2.8 -3.5

Keep in mind I'm not a professional photographer, but just getting into it more.

SLC Flyfishing

Suspended
Nov 19, 2007
Portland, OR
Are you asking about N60 as in 35mm film body?

Or are you asking about D60 as in APS-C DSLR body?

If it's the D60, definately worth the upgrade. If it's the N60, I probably wouldn't, but only because I wouldn't want to deal with the film. Digital is so much more convenient.

SLC

theNIC

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 8, 2009
It's the N60. I didn't know if it was digital or not so I guess I won't be "upgrading". By any chance do they make digital versions of the N60 do you know?

Thanks

leighonigar

macrumors 6502a
May 5, 2007
The N60 was a low end and now undesirable film body. Perfectly usable, but not something you would choose. Read Thom Hogan's thoughts here: http://www.bythom.com/Bodies.htm . As it happens there was an early digital SLR which was based upon the body - the Fujifilm S1 pro. http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/fujis1pro/

There is no chance that an 'N60' would be digital however. All of Nikon's digital SLRs are called 'Dx(xx)' as in D1, D1h, D100, D70, D50, etc. Current models are the D3000, D5000, D90, D300s, D700, D3 and D3x.

theNIC

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 8, 2009
Alright, thanks. Can you suggest a camera, it doesn't have to be the newest model - just whatever you think would be a good starter.

Thank you.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California