Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

HE15MAN

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 3, 2009
Florida's Treasure Coast
I was planning on buying an XSI or T1I in the next month or so, and am a total noob to camera's and photo editing software. I am more than competent with technology and computers, i just do not have any real experience in the camera and editing fields.

First of all, which camera would be better? Would it be smarter to save money, buy the XSi, and use the difference on a better lense? I live in Florida and plan on doing a lot of nature/birds/scenery pictures, as well as sporting events (Gators and baseball).

Secondly, is Aperture similar/comparable to Photoshop? Which is better/more user friendly?

Thanks!

miles01110

macrumors Core
Jul 24, 2006
The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
I was planning on buying an XSI or T1I in the next month or so, and am a total noob to camera's and photo editing software. I am more than competent with technology and computers, i just do not have any real experience in the camera and editing fields.

First of all, which camera would be better? Would it be smarter to save money, buy the XSi, and use the difference on a better lense?

I'd just get the XSi. The T1i seems like a waste of money unless you really need the video capability. You won't need a new lens until you learn what you're doing as the 18-55mm IS kit lens is perfectly adequate.

Secondly, is Aperture similar/comparable to Photoshop? Which is better/more user friendly?

They're not really competing programs. Aperture is a photo manipulation program while Photoshop is more of a graphic design program.

HE15MAN

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 3, 2009
Florida's Treasure Coast