Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ecwyatt

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 10, 2005
Recently my Boss has given me a task of "enhancing" our photography equipment. The only propblem is Im a designer not a photographer. We currently use a Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT, with a the standard EFS 18-55mm lens. Our primary use is product photography. Right now when we shoot a product we go back under box fluorescent lights, He wants me to look at B&H photo to find a photo table. Correct me if I'm wrong but rather than spend several hundred dollars on a Table setup couldn't we just purchase a sheet of white Plexiglas, and use the other money for better lights?

I guess my questions for you real photographers are:

1) Where can I buy Plexiglas or should I use seamless? what are the benefits of each.
2) For product photography what type of lighting equipment should we look into?
3) is there a better lens for the Canon. the EFS 18-55mm lens is ok but it seams like it's just a "get me started" type of lens. It's not as sharp as I would like and if there is any motion at all it picks it up (especially if I'm shooting with out a tripod).

I appreciate any help on this. I would much rather us a real photographer but they don't want to spend the money.

Thanks

Eric

Abstract

macrumors Penryn
Dec 27, 2002
Location Location Location
Once you have the setup, you're probably OK without a "real" photographer.

I don't know much about product shots, but use a tripod every time you take a shot. ;)

And about getting new gear......well......I think you're right. You don't need a new camera. You just need the right setup in terms of lighting and such. A new camera won't fix this problem. You'll just take photos that show the same problems, but in more megapixels and larger file sizes. Talk about a nice example of having "no benefit." :p

beavo451

macrumors 6502
Jun 22, 2006