Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MattSepeta

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jul 9, 2009
375th St. Y
Morning.

I have been shooting for a couple of years now, and I am looking to start doing some more serious portrait/action work. I am going to start shopping for some off camera flashes.

Here's the thing: It confuses the heck out of me!

I have a Canon xti and use a 580Ex speedlight on top. I am planning on upgrading to a 40d or 50d in the near future, so I want to stay compatible.

Here is my question- Strobes can be either radio or flash triggered, right? Do you guys have a preference?

Does anyone have any reccomendations for some cheap, basic flashes? Maybe a kit?

Any advice period?

Thanks alot, I know I sound like a fool, but I dropped out of my photo degree before I could take a lighting class :rolleyes:

Thanks for any input

pprior

macrumors 65816
Aug 1, 2007
Budget?

You can http://strobist.blogspot.com/

If you want "real" off cameral lighting, Alienbees are a great investment and have reasonably priced radio triggers.

I personally don't like oncamera primary trigger flash because you always have that main flash messing with the image quality.

Is this for studio/home work or location shooting?

Lots of things to consider.

jampat

macrumors 6502a
Mar 17, 2008
If you are shooting events (ie any place that anybody else may have a camera) radio is the way to go. If you are shooting in a studio, optical triggers work and are about 1/20th of the money. If you try to shoot a wedding with optical triggers, every person with a crappy camera will trip your strobes. They will not be ready when you want them and all of their pics will be completely blown out as they will meter in the dark and then have your strobes make the scene glow. There is a reason PocketWizards are so prevalent (but very pricey).