Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mjones185

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 18, 2009
Warner Robins,GA
Hello,

I must share my excitement with everyone. After almost four months of reading, reading, and more reading and agonizing over the decision between lenses I got my shipment in the mail. I was torn between what route to go with camera sensors (i.e. full frame or crop). After much deliberation I decided to stay with crop camera's. It mostly came down to cost verse return. I'm a hobbyist and will never make a living or enough money to justify the jump to full frame.

First; I WANT TO THANK EVERYONE FOR YOUR FEEDBACK, YOU ARE AN AWESOME GROUP OF PEOPLE AND THIS SITE IS BY FAR MY FAVORITE!

Biggest thing I got from everyone, weather is was a reply to my post or reading someone else s is lenses, lenses, lenses. I went with that advice and I received hopefully three awesome lenses in the mail today.

To complement my Canon 70-200 2.8 IS and replace my old 28-135 I got the:

Canon EF-S 17-55 2.8 IS
Sigma 30mm 1.4 EX DC
Canon EF-S 60mm 2.8 Macro

I can not wait to use these lenses. Next on my list is either the Canon 10-22 or the Tokina 11-16. I like the idea of sticking to F2.8 or faster, but have heard big things about the Canon 10-22 and flair issues with the Tokina, anyway, that's for another thread :)

Also in my future to complement my Canon 40D is the 7D or is update.

Oh, another surprise I got today is a buddy of mine sent me a dedicated slide scanner to scan all my slides from my film days. I have about 10,000 slides of military aircraft from my film days. I'm currently stationed at Osan AB, Korea without my family so I brought all of them with me to scan.

Once again thank you for all your feedback and kindness for repetitive questions that these type forums generate.

Mike

toxic

macrumors 68000
Nov 9, 2008
scanning 10,000 slides is gonna take a looong time O.O