Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Joeytpg

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 1, 2004
Vienna, Austria
I gotta order my new dslr tomorrow morning (traveling/shippin' issues) and I gotta decide what am I gonna get.

First my needs:

-I'm a very very amateur photographer (heck I wouldn't even call myself a photographer really) but I love to take pics, not really a "sit in a corner and take the perfect pic, or "I can't travel without a camera because I might miss a VERY nice oportunity to take great pics" type of person but I'm the one who ALWAYS takes his p&s camera to a party/trip/ because I love to remember moments. To me photography is all about remembering moments (party, a trip with friends, etc) more than having a collection of cool photos just for the sake of it.

So, I already have a 3 year old Canon Powershot which still works great for what it does, and instead of spending 300 + on another P&S I'd rather get an entry level dslr. Having said what my photography needs are, I want something not so expensive, because honestly I don't need more. I've been thinking about the Nikon D40 a lot....it's small, I don't really need more than 6 mp honestly and it's somewhat cheap whilst excellent quality.

Now I'd get the D40 without much though if it wasn't for a few things:

a) my girl is getting a Canon XTi in a few months (she's an Architech-Landscaper) and it'd be nice to be able to swap lenses with her, so I've though about the Canon option.

b) I've had GREAT xp with my canon powershot (picture quality) and the menu/interface is very easy for me to use.... so maybe staying with the company I've been happy with so far could be an intelligent move.

c) Nikon D40 doesn't have auto focus....... this seems like a big deal (or not??) I'm a total noob to dslrs so I don't know how would this affect my photography needs.