Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

FleurDuMal

macrumors 68000
Original poster
May 31, 2006
London Town
Hi everyone.

Now, as I am a cash strapped student who has been working very hard all summer to earn myself some money, the money that I have earned I want to stretch as far as possible. Having decided that I'm in the market now for both/either a fast mindrange prime (for portraits/difficult light) and a wide-angle zoom (see my other recent thread), I am willing to do anything to get the best optical quality for the least money (OK, aren't we all... :rolleyes: ).

One option I'm considering is taking advantage of Nikon's impressive back-catalogue compatibility on all its cameras (I have a D70s). However, I don't seem to see people on these and other forums talk about buying up old lenses cheap and using them for their new digital cameras. How comes? I assume the optics were just as good 5 or 10 or 15 years ago? In the end, I'm most bothered about coming out with a high quality picture. If it means I can save a £100 plus, I'm willing to forgo ability to capture EXIF data (I can use a notebook anyway). I'm even willing to relinquish auto-focus for some types of shooting (I only really see auto-focus as a major advantage in action photography, and perhaps street photography, where you really need to capture a specific moment - I've got my heart set on the 18-200mm VR for street photography anyway).

So I'm just wondering whether it's really a good idea to buy cheap(er) older lenses of eBay and use them on my new D70s. Has anyone on here had a bad experience doing something similar? Is there a reason you'll only buy lenses from the current range (if you do)? Do optics really improve with every revision of a lense?

I'm interested in hearing what you think.

ScubaDuc

macrumors 6502
Aug 7, 2003
Europe
FleurDuMal said:
Hi everyone.