Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Irishguinea

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 9, 2008
Hi all, first day here. Was reading earlier today and decided to join. Seems to be alot of good info and people around here.

From the thread title can anyone recommend or tell me if there are there any picture quality differences between the two. Which one would you choose?

I can get a Minolta 50 prime 1.4 for around 250.00 but for another 100.00 I can get the new Sony 50 1.4 w/image stablization, I know your probably laughing at that one :), but I'm new to digital photography so it helps...

Thank you in advance for any replies and input.

wheelhot

macrumors 68020
Nov 23, 2007
Hmm, me myself is new and since you are comparing, its pretty hard to say.
Cause all Sony DSLRs body has build in stabilization correct?
So how much will a IS Sony Lens make a effect if its body is already stabilized?

Oh yeah, regarding the old Minolta, you know what year it was released?

Westside guy

macrumors 603
Oct 15, 2003
The soggy side of the Pacific NW
So how much will a IS Sony Lens make a effect if its body is already stabilized?

That does sound kind of odd. In-lens stabilization is supposed to be better than in-body stabilization; but for a 50mm lens it doesn't make much sense to have in-lens stabilization - the return at that focal length is minimal, especially given the size tradeoff that'd be necessary.

Is the OP sure that the new Sony lens is stabilized?

Irishguinea

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 9, 2008
Your right, my fault, it says it takes advantage of the in-camera image stablization... here's the copy from sony's page...