Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lightSmile

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 17, 2007
Give me some tips!
I just switched from film to digital - Canon 30D.
Now I'm a shopping for my 1st MacBook Pro...

What is Essential?
What is Unnecessary?

15" vs 17" screen
2GB vs 4GB memory
160GB hard drive vs 250 GB
Resolution preferences?

I shoot mostly protraits, children, families, weddings...
I have been shooting film for 13 years, time to switch to digital...

give me your opinions.

Crawn2003

macrumors 6502
Jul 8, 2005
Santa Rosa, California
Well.. I'm a commercial photographer! lol Graduated from Ohio Institute of Photography. I'm currently using a 17" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz with 4GB of RAM.

Memory - 4GB. Period. Some will say, no, only 2 should be fine. Trust me, it isn't, 4GB is what I have in my MBP.

17" or 15" - totally up to you. I chose the 17" just because I like A LOT of real estate on my screen. I feel I have more room to compare two photos side by side if needed or more room for pallets, etc.

160 or 250 GB hard drive - I chose the 250 simply because I'm not worried about a fast drive for video editing, start up times (which really isn't an issue), etc.. The slower drive hasn't proven to be a problem for me yet and I don't see a noticeable difference between the two. I also like to keep about 3 months worth of shoots on the hard drive so my clients can call any time and I can swing by with them without having to delay them more than I have to (though this doesn't mean that I don't back them up at home).

Resolution - this is dependent on size of the screen. I picked the High Resolution option on the 17" because, once again, I like having a ton of space on my screen. It's basically like having a 23" Cinema Display on the road.