Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

watchever

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 14, 2015
Hi all,

I have been using a Macbook Pro M1 Pro 16 GB since the end of 2021. Last year, I connected my Macbook Pro to two Studio Displays and started using it that way.

Current OS version is 14.5.

I've been experiencing a strange problem for the last two or three months and I can't find a solution.

When I start typing in a window, the cursor stops (or I can't click anything but I can move the pointer) and when I finish typing, what I wrote appears. Sometimes the trackpad I am using loses connection and stops responding. When it comes back, the screen resizes very slightly.

When I contacted Apple support, they said that the resolutions should be the same, and if they were not, this problem would occur. When they checked the settings, they saw that they were the same (default settings are already applied). As a result, they said that I had to reinstall the system. In short, they don't know the answer either.

Why did this problem start two or three months ago and why does it mostly happen when the sun hits the monitor? I don't know if an update caused this or if they are trying to tell me that the monitor is getting hot (I can't hear any fan noise) and it won't be worth the money.

I don't have this problem when I work with a single monitor. By the way, the lid of my Macbook Pro is always closed.

Sometimes when I unplug the cable and plug it back in it seems to fix it. Then it starts again.

This problem is really starting to bother me.

Is it time to replace the M1 Pro? Or do I need to find them a shadow spot? Or did they just release an update and keep devices from a certain year ago bugging it so they can sell me new ones?

Does anyone have a similar problem or have any suggestions (except reinstalling the system)?

Thanks.

Last edited:

Sheepish-Lord

macrumors 68020
Oct 13, 2021