Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

devilot

Moderator emeritus
May 1, 2005
Without being able to figure out what it is, I find the first image to be quite interesting and the most compelling. Shapes. Contrast. Composition.

The dog image would have appealed to me more if I felt there was a greater range of values-- a truer black, truer whites, and more varied grays. Also, the false-attachment (to the rock?) is really visually distracting for me. :eek:

samh004

macrumors 68020
Mar 1, 2004
Australia
I like your photos but I am not very good at picking up on all this photographic stuff, however I'll give it a shot.

Oh and I think the first one looks like a glass.

I have to reiterate what has been said about the dog in relation to the rock, it's a good photo, but the rock distracts.

The sparkler/firework makes for an interesting image. And the shot of Tongaporutu, with Mount Taranaki in the background is great.

Scarlet Fever

macrumors 68040
Jul 22, 2005
Bookshop!
damn, i'm jealous of you. i want that cam to take all those kinds of shots. The quality is amazing!

What lenses did you use for them?

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
Let me know what you think of them!
All taken with a Canon EOS 400D (or XTi as most people call them)

The first shot is good, centering actually works here.

The dog doesn't work because of the rock and the fact that it's centered (you need to give it some space to run in to on the right.) I'd also like to see some fill flash to bring out the dog's eye, .

The third shot is ok, though the dead space on the right really doesn't do much for the composition other than make sure it's not dead center.