Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Rigtee

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 19, 2018
Belgium
Hi everyone,

Question asked many times on this forum but here I am, telling my story to you and asking for advice. I've owned a 2018 13" MBP for close to 3 years now and this machine has served me well as my main computer: MS Office suite, general browsing, coding (Pycharm, CLion), photo editing (RAW images on Lightroom Classic CC), occasional video editing (FCPX), video calls (MS Teams and Zoom), occasional use of a Windows 10 virtual machine (VM Ware)... Even though I'm a student, I do a lot on my laptop and take advantage of the 16GB of RAM of my unit. I bought it for an expensive price tag at that time (close to €2500) and wanted to fully use it. I also connect it to a big 32" BenQ 4K screen, laptop can get hot sometimes but overall the experience has been smooth.

I'm having a student exchange, starting next month, and my laptop will again be my main companion for everything. However, as it already happened in the past, my keyboard is slowly starting to malfunction with keys blocked, space bar counted as twice... The curse of the butterfly keyboard is following me and replacing it to Apple would, again, change the battery (good thing, got 203 cycles and 83% design capacity according to coconutBattery; battery life is a HUGE disappointment when using it unplugged with Teams e.g.) but leave me with the same buggy keyword that I hate.