Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Edgecrusherr

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 21, 2006

Intro​

So, with VMware Fusion Pro now being free, I wanted to do some testing to see if I can make the switch from Parallels, and save myself from having to renew my Parallels at the end of next month. I've been running Parallels on Appel Silicon since 2021, and VMware Fusion Player on Apple Silicon since they started public betas. I fully uninstalled the Player version and installed the Pro version, and decided to give it a fresh comparison. Here’s what I found…

Test Machine​

Mac Studio 2022
CPU: Apple M1 Max 10 core
RAM: 64GB
Storage: 1TB internal SSD, VMs running off a 1TB NVMe in an OWC Thunderbolt Dock
Display: LG 32UL500-W 4K

Comparisons and issues​

Parallels offers a streamline install process, while VMware is a full manual install. VMware can download the Win installer for you, but Parallels does it in a seamless way, and cleans up after itself (VMware leave the installer in your home folder).

VMware freezes on me a lot. Both VMs are set to 16GB of RAM. VMware is set to 8GB of vRAM, Parallels does some kind of unified memory for the vRAM.

Parallels has a way to auto allocate CPU cores, and assigned 8 cored to my VM. VMware requires you to manually set your cores, and warns you that anything over 4 cores may not be usable (see performance differences below). I forced VMware to 8 cores to match Parallels.

Parallels lets you attach Mac drives and folders as shares directly in the VM. I don’t see this option in VMware.

Scrolling is bit jittery on VMware

Bluetooth didn’t work AT ALL with VMware. I searched around online, and see others having the same issue. Bluetooth sharing is turned on, so it’s likely a bug. I was able to get my Xbox Series controller working via USB. Parallels picks up the Bluetooth with no issues.