Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

EEzycade

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 29, 2018
Mesa, Arizona
Years ago, my parents bought a base model 2013 27 inch iMac(1 TB hard drive). It was fast then but not now. It's not impossible to use but there are a few more beach balls than I'd like to see and the overall performance is just slow. It also has a crack in the corner but it's not a big deal. I know they don't want to buy a new computer(this is a family one) but I'm thinking if they could spend a couple hundred bucks to speed it up that would be good.

I know the big thing is to get an SSD in there. But I don't know if it's smart to pay a repair shop to open the computer and put in an SSD, not to mention it would call for a screen replacement as well. And I can't do it myself, I'm disabled. Forgive the total noob question here, but would it be possible to just get an external SSD, plug it in, and have the OS boot from that, keeping the old spinning disc as extra(albeit slow) storage? Could you point me to some resources that would tell me how to do that. And would it be worth it to chuck in some extra RAM to make it 16? Thanks in advance

Also, I think it's stupid that the base model still ships with a fusion drive. Come on apple.

Lankyman

macrumors 68020
May 14, 2011
U.K.
Years ago, my parents bought a base model 2013 27 inch iMac(1 TB hard drive). It was fast then but not now. It's not impossible to use but there are a few more beach balls than I'd like to see and the overall performance is just slow. It also has a crack in the corner but it's not a big deal. I know they don't want to buy a new computer(this is a family one) but I'm thinking if they could spend a couple hundred bucks to speed it up that would be good.