Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

timmyb

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 2, 2005
United Kingdom
I'm planning to get a Nikon D40 this weekend - it'll be my first DSLR. I've never used one before and don't have any particular knowledge of photography, but want to move up from point & shoot and am really excited about what a 'proper' camera will let me do. I've got plenty of time to really get drawn in to it.

Should my approach be to simply "learn by doing" or would it be more helpful to learn with the guidance of a book? (More than just the user manual.)

If a book is a good idea, would it be better to go for a specific one like this (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Nikon-D40x-...=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1224628230&sr=8-1) or a more general one?

Thanks

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
Should my approach be to simply "learn by doing" or would it be more helpful to learn with the guidance of a book? (More than just the user manual.)

Do both. You need to shoot a lot. Go outside of your comfort zone and make up some hard asignents and shoot 100 frames then edit down to the best 4 to 6. You will learn a lot looking at your work and deciding which 95% of it to toss out.
Repeat the above 10 or 20 times (that means 1,000 to 2,000 exposures)

Get two books. One on the mechanics of exposures and lenses and how f-tops work and one "picture book" Get some big books with photos and see what kinds of images you like. Try and copy the style.

If a book is a good idea, would it be better to go for a specific one like this (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Nikon-D40x-...=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1224628230&sr=8-1) or a more general one?

Thanks

You want to learn the general concepts and the "why" part. The Nikon user manual is good enough to explain the how it works part.

FrankieTDouglas

macrumors 68000
Mar 10, 2005
Some assignments to give yourself...