Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rowanonline

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 25, 2008
Does anybody know of some good (relatively inexpensive) photo editing software that allows me to draw straight lines & irregular polygons. I am an engineer and mostly take a photo and what to show where a new pipeline may run or some new beams etc may be. Most of the photo editing software I have been directed to on this forum Acorn, Pixelmater, etc seem to be mainly similar to all other editing software ie pencil, brush, freehand stuff with the occasional straight line but no irregular polygons??

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
Does anybody know of some good (relatively inexpensive) photo editing software that allows me to draw straight lines & irregular polygons.

All the graphics professionals will tell you to get Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended. This will do exactly what you need and it will do it with precision. But it is also expensive and maybe a bit of overkill in terms of features. It can do a lot now, like measure lengths and area and take care of perspective transformations, likely more than you need.

Adobe Elements is the stripped down version and I think it still has vector lines. The feature is intended for graphic artists who need to draw vector based masks to make borders and odd (polygon, round, oval) shaped images. Adobe has announced an upgrade to Elements so if you buy now you'll be upgrading soon.