Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jaktho

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 23, 2010
Hello!

I am a amatuer photographer looking for photo editor for my mac.
My needs are quite basic. The most important thing i want to do is to make colurs jpegs into great looking black and whites. - I want to be able to change exposure, contrast, highlights and shadows and such.
If it is possible i would also like to be able to remove and add noise/grain.
I also want to be able to do basic things like crop an image and change colours. What i could not care less about is -

- "Smart" functions like "send with mail" and "upload on facebook", "Maps" "Faces" or whatever.
- Ways to organise my photos. I do this in folders and in iPhoto.

What i really do care about is that the application is "gentle" on my pictures. I shoot mostly jpegs from my small digicams and i also do some scanning of 35mm. For example i tried to make a jpeg into a black and white in the application Seashore and it turned out useless.
I did not expect much from the application but the dynamic was all gone.

For example. If i change the exposure in my picture i want it to be made with the smallest possible "artifacts" in types of noise and loss of dynamic.
If i say that this is really the only thing i care about in my choice of photo editor, which one should i try?

I appreciate any help! If something is unclear please tell me and i will try to explain.

I am using a Macbook with integrated intel graphics.

/Jakob

Gold89

macrumors 6502
Dec 17, 2008
UK
If you are adjusting the exposure of JPEGs there is very little that you can do to adjust the exposure without noise (unlike RAW).

jaktho

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 23, 2010
Yes. RAW gives more possibilities i guess but it is too cumbersome for me.