Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Shacklebolt

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 2, 2004
I managed to get photo credentials to All Points West. .. meaning, I get 3 songs to photograph Radiohead from 15 feet. I'm psyched.

As a brief run through, my gear consists of:

Nikon D300
Nikon D80
Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8
Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8
Nikkor 50mm f/1.4
18-135mm f/3.5-5.6

I have a lot of experience shooting concerts, but this is, for me, the Super Bowl of concerts to shoot.

It will be at 8:30 PM. They have a pretty intense light show.

Does anyone have any suggestions for body/lens combinations/ISO settings, etc. This is ALL stuff that I know how to do, but any extra advice garnered on this particular occasion would be, for me, welcome.

ghostguts

macrumors regular
Feb 11, 2008
After seeing Radiohead a few times, it won't be an easy shoot regardless of what settings you use, with the amazing, though erratic light show.

Check to make sure you have access to Radiohead. My friend, who is a freelance photographer in Chicago, had a press credential for Lollapalooza, but was denied access to Radiohead (only 5 or so VIP passes were given out).

Shacklebolt

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 2, 2004
After seeing Radiohead a few times, it won't be an easy shoot regardless of what settings you use, with the amazing, though erratic light show.

Check to make sure you have access to Radiohead. My friend, who is a freelance photographer in Chicago, had a press credential for Lollapalooza, but was denied access to Radiohead (only 5 or so VIP passes were given out).

Yep, I'm sure. They indeed do have separate photo credentials for the entire festival and radiohead specifically. I found out about the photo credentials a few weeks ago and radiohead today.

brendanryder

macrumors 6502a
Dec 28, 2006
Calgary
hummmmm.