Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mattrgee

macrumors member
Original poster
May 28, 2009
Hi guys,

I got a Nikon D40 last Christmas and now decided to take the plunge and do a course on photography. As previously mentioned on other threads, I am a beginner and know very little about exposure, aperture and shutter speeds etc.

I want a course that is informative and not too basic, so far I've found this:

Level 1 Photography

Has anyone taken this course? Can anyone recommend it or others?

Thanks for the help.

CrackedButter

macrumors 68040
Jan 15, 2003
51st State of America
I think what you have there is a capable course, it won't compete against a BA of course and give you any insight into the foundations of photography but this all depends on what you want to do and how far you want to take it.

I can recommend courses in the UK, but without knowing your intentions there isn't any point at this stage.

mattrgee

macrumors member
Original poster
May 28, 2009
My intentions are simply really, I want to understand my camera and photography so that I can take professional looking pictures.

I work in IT and spend a lot of my time studying for qualifications and involving myself in the industry, some escapism would be nice. I enjoy taking pictures and have always been interested in the theory and how this is applied in the field.

Thanks.

CrackedButter

macrumors 68040
Jan 15, 2003
51st State of America
My intentions are simply really, I want to understand my camera and photography so that I can take professional looking pictures.

I work in IT and spend a lot of my time studying for qualifications and involving myself in the industry, some escapism would be nice. I enjoy taking pictures and have always been interested in the theory and how this is applied in the field.

Thanks.