Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Woodrow72

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 16, 2008
Utah
Ok so I am a first year photography student and I am quite frustrated. I realize that I am still learning but lately I am frustrated with my photo's especially when compared to those in my class and I get even more frustrated
when I see the amazing pictures that are posted on this site.

What frustrates me is when I see other people take pictures at the same site that I took them at but theirs look better or they got a different angle that I didn't see. I understand that I am still learning at I hope that it will come with time.

So here is my question: Do any of you get frustrated when you photograph? And the bigger question: What do you do to get rid of those frustrations.

I would appreciate any advice and comments you have. Thanks!

deep diver

macrumors 68030
Jan 17, 2008
Philadelphia.
practice, practice, practice

There is no formula. You need to get out and shoot lots of pictures. When I started, I might have gotten a couple of good frames per roll of film. It was expensive. You don't have to worry about the film cost. Just start shooting everything. Shoot what interests you. Pay attention to what catches your eye. Experiment. There is always another angle. Try them all. Pay attention to what you see in this forum and others and try it. Second most important: pay less attention to the camera and more attention to the subject. Keep the camera set on its full program mode. Most important: have fun.

Captpegleg

macrumors member
Jan 19, 2009
Everyone gets frustrated. That's how you get better. You are being challenged and as you overcome your challenges you become a better photographer. If you only did things that you were comfortable with, you won't acquire the skills you need to survive as a photographer.