Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Debojyoti Das

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 16, 2010
Germany
Hello all,

So recently I have planned to switch to the Mac and I am planning to buy the new MacBook Pro as soon as Apple updates it with Skylake.
Now I am facing this dilemma. I am a pro Photoshop user as long as PC is concerned. However I don't want to clutter my Mac with all those extra garbage from Adobe or other vendors (a big reason for my switch). I will always have a PC lying around, in any case.
So my question is, what shoul I buy, for simple day to day photo retouching? Elements or Pixelmator?
Which is more purist, junk free and works well?
I am open to other options as well.

Thanks. :)

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
Which is more purist, junk free and works well?
I don't know about more purist, but I believe Pixelmator has more features. Visit Pixelmator and download the trial and see how it measures up. Also you should be able to compare the features of Pixelmator against Elements.

Debojyoti Das

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 16, 2010
Germany
I don't know about more purist, but I believe Pixelmator has more features. Visit Pixelmator and download the trial and see how it measures up. Also you should be able to compare the features of Pixelmator against Elements.

Thank you so much for the reply. I am downloading the trial now.

Lunfai

macrumors 68000
Nov 21, 2010
Sheffield
Reason please?

Maybe this is out of he question but wouldn't Lightroom + Photoshop be a little more ideal for photo editing? It's always on an offer combo but if not, I would pick pixelmator as I think element is a stop gap product to the real thing. :)

theluggage

macrumors 604
Jul 29, 2011
I am open to other options as well.

Affinity Photo is another contender - again, free trial available.