Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

soup4you2

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 12, 2007
Just curious how this is done. I'm pretty new to both these tools.

I have a color photo that i would like to make black and white. except for 1 color. lets say red. in lightroom (preferably) or photoshop how could i accomplish this?

Lovesong

macrumors 65816
Not sure about lightroom (it's probably easier than what I'm describing, but I use Aperture), but in PS, open an image, press apple-option-shift-b (or go image > adjustments > black and white. You can then use pre-set filters (like b&w with red/blue filter) or adjust a handful of channels separately.

M@lew

macrumors 68000
Nov 18, 2006
Melbourne, Australia
Photoshop has a much better and more accurate way of doing this. Lightroom would just consists if dragging the saturation sliders all the way to the left except for the colour you want. Problem with this is that should you have small hints of the colour in the photo they'll still show.

Edge100

macrumors 68000
May 14, 2002
Where am I???
Just curious how this is done. I'm pretty new to both these tools.

I have a color photo that i would like to make black and white. except for 1 color. lets say red. in lightroom (preferably) or photoshop how could i accomplish this?

Are you interested in spot colour (i.e. only one thing in the image is in colour) or are you interested in having all of the reds in the entire image show up?

I'm only familiar with the former (though I'm sure the latter could be acomplished with selective desaturation), so here's an easy way to do spot colouring. Since you have a colour photo to start with, it's fairly easy (in PS...never tried in it LR):

1. Convert to B&W using a layer-based method; in PS3 you have some nice presets in the Channel Mixer. Whatever you do, do NOT simply convert the mode to greyscale.