Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

shady825

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 8, 2008
Area 51
I just got a Canon 1000D yesterday and for some reason when i try opening RAW photos in PS its telling me it doesnt recognize the format!?

Do i need a plug-in or anything??

This is my first camera capable of shooting RAW so im pretty new to this. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: Using CS3 (if that makes a difference)

shady825

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 8, 2008
Area 51
Lightroom 2.0 can also open RAWs from your camera. Alternatively, you can use the Canon software that came with your camera, but that has always been more of a hassle to me than anything.

I agree! That software is no good! What program (with the included software) lets me remotely shoot my camera from my computer?? Thats the only program i care to keep but i dont even know which one it is.
(I just got this camera last night, sorry)

EDIT**** I think it might be Camera Window?? Is that right??

somuchtosayx

macrumors newbie
Jun 25, 2008
Jersey, NYC
To take pictures remotely with my Canon XSi I can use the Canon EOS Utility program that came with the camera. Its on the same disk as the rest of the software such as PhotoStitch and Digital Photo Professional.

Also, the Photo professional will let you transfer the RAWs to your computer. I recommend however that you use Lightroom to import as DNG, Digital Negatives) This allows you to edit and manipulate the pictures using metadata (which preserves the original RAW data)

Once the image is loaded as a DNG, open in CS3, complete editing, and "Save As" photo-v2.TIF

This workflow has many advantages:

1: The original RAW is embedded in the DNG file along with a preview (since RAW can't actually be displayed, a JPG Preview is made, embedded, and hidden from the user to stop confusion).