Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Magus90

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 6, 2017
Hey Everyone,

I am new to the Imac world and FCP in general. I want to do some video editing for my youtube channel and i coming from premiere pro and a custom built PC i made with pretty high specs. SSD, I7, 32gb ram, GTX 1050 ti, etc.......

I am trying to find out what specs i should be going for if i am doing 1080P 60 FPS editing for youtube videos in FCP. I don't think i will be doing 4K but it couldn't hurt to have the option.

I have the following Imac brand new sitting here.

I5
256 SSD
570 4gb GPU
16GB Ram

But i can't help but wonder if this won't be enough for my needs and i should spend the extra $200 for the upgraded I5 and 575 GPU. Or $400 for the I7 and 575 GPU?

Or should i just keep what i have because it is more than enough for my needs? I just am used to the power hungry Premiere Pro and custom built Windows PC's.

Thanks so much in advance

Magus90

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 6, 2017
What i7 is in the custom built PC? 6700k, 7700k?
It was a 6700k overclocked. It was a nice setup. But i hate premiere and really enjoy FCP from what i used, so i wanted to make the switch. But i have no idea on Mac specs and how they perform.

velocityg4

macrumors 604
Dec 19, 2004
Georgia
It really depends on how much video editing you do. If you have it already. Why not try to edit some videos and see if it is fast enough.

The $200 i5 and Radeon 575 won't make much difference. i5 3.4 to i5 3.5 isn't even worth mentioning. Radeon Pro 570 to 575 is substantial. You are likely to get around a 25% boost in GPU related tasks.

As for the i7 option. It is $500. But an i7 and the Radeon 575 should make a noticeable difference. As you'll get good gains in CPU bound and GPU bound tasks.