Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

makismagoo99

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 17, 2006
I don’t have a lot of cash to spend (the less the better), but I’m looking to expand on my interest in photography. I’m not a 100% novice photographer…I’ve taken a few photo classes and currently own a Canon Rebel film SLR, but I’m not a pro by any means.

The #1 thing that's held me back thus far is that I'm not sure how much I'll use the camera. On one hand, I'd hate to blow a bunch of money on something too expensive that will just collect dust. On the other, if I get into photography more, it'd be nice to have a camera I can grow into a little bit. I've played around with both Canon and Nikons at camera stores and have no real preference to either brand in terms of usability/ergonomics.

Assuming I want to go with a new Canon or Nikon (no offense Pentax/Olympus/Sony supporters…I simply trust the two companies with the longest history in the industry more than the others), would I be better off going with:

Option 1: The cheaper body (i.e. Nikon D40/D3000 or Canon XS/XSi) knowing I could upgrade that more cheaply down the road and spend any leftover money on an extra lens?

Option 2: Middle of the line body (i.e. Canon T1i or Nikon D5000/D60/D90) knowing I can grow into it a little more?

It seems to me that I get a little more "bang for my buck" in terms of specs with the Canon cameras, but my only experience is with film SLRs, so I’m not quite up on the end effect of all the bells and whistles.

Lastly, I visited a local camera store today and the salesman recommended the Canon brand for their customer service. He unfortunately didn’t offer much help in terms of my other above questions. Can anyone else attest to Canon's customer service outdoing Nikon's?

dubels

macrumors 6502
Aug 9, 2006
How much do you have invested in Canon glass?