Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

danny_w

macrumors 601
Original poster
Mar 8, 2005
Cumming, GA
I'm in the market for a basic p&s camera for basic use, nothing fancy. I'm a complete photography novice and have no idea what is out there.

Chappers

macrumors 68020
Aug 12, 2003
At home
I have a little Samsung just for snaps - its fine. Get something that takes AA batteries and you'll be OK. At these prices it doesn't matter.

Don't forget to buy a bigger memory card to go in it.

joelypolly

macrumors 6502a
Sep 14, 2003
Bay Area
Consider the eBay market just after xmas as people post their old cameras after getting replacements.

Check dpreview for cameras release around 2 years ago they should come down in price and still be in ok condition most of the time.

mstrze

macrumors 68000
Nov 6, 2009
Honestly, just go to your local WalMart, Target, Best Buy, Frys or the like and buy whatever moves you.

For a simple point and shoot you really can't go wrong these days. I have used Kodak cameras recently with no complaints.

Get one with a large enough screen for your liking. Most have movie recording functionality too and these will also automatically be pulled into iPhoto, just like the still pictures.

8MP is about the smallest resolution you would want to get to still allow good prints from your photos. 10MP is very affordable these days.

I second getting the extra-large memory card. You will be glad you did! ;)

duncanapple

macrumors 6502
Jun 12, 2008
I think a canon P&S of just about any model and vintage (you may want to consider gently used?) is a pretty safe bet. I have a Canon SD600 for when I need something smaller than my DSLR.... its about 3-4 years old now and still does a great job. I will likely have that camera until it breaks!

notjustjay

macrumors 603
Sep 19, 2003
Canada, eh?