Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Suspended
Original poster
Dec 29, 2007
Any got a recommendation for a PNS.

I've been looking at the Canon G9 -- 1/1.7" CCD w/12MP. I've used Canon ELPHs, and they're noisy to being with. That many MP seems to be inviting more noise.

I'm looking for the best, crispest, color-balanced shot up to 400 ISO. I'd like it to at least fit in a jacket pocket and have, preferably, a 4-6X zoom and possibly 28mm on the low end. But I want to a clean picture, so that probably means starting with a good sized imager with a lower MP rating. I was thinking of the G9 for RAW, but I may be willing to stick w/JPEG if there's something out there.

Anyone have any recommendations on current shipping or even past models?

Crawn2003

macrumors 6502
Jul 8, 2005
Santa Rosa, California
I'm a photographer and I use Fuji and Nikon dSLR cameras but when I'm just out having fun with friends or family I take my Leica D-Lux 3.

I really like the Leica D-Lux because it has a lot of the controls that my dSLR has and shoots RAW too! I think it has a 6x zoom on it also. Another nice feature is that it can change it's crop: 16x9, 4x3, and 3x2.

Only down side is the price but it is a REALLY nice camera and I really like the features because of my SLR cameras.

Here's a review: http://www.dpreview.com/news/0609/06091408leicadlux3.asp

~Crawn

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
......I take my Leica D-Lux 3.....
Only down side is the price but it is a REALLY nice camera

Panasonic makes a nearly identical camera. It's really the same camera, the only difference is some default settings. Amazon.com has the Panasonic version of theD-Lux3 discounted down to mid $300 range