Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Daremo

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jul 3, 2007
Chicago
Hey guys,

This is the the shot I was happiest with out of a shoot here at home of my daughter. It's actually the first portrait shot I've ever tried, and I'm brand new to the Nikon D60, so I'm looking for comments, suggestions, and advice.

Since I don't have extra money at the moment for lighting, I put together some homemade lighting, with a couple of those silver bowl type work lights, with some daylight bulbs, and then covered with a white material to defuse the light. She's lit on both sides, with a plain backdrop behind her.

Here's the exif info...

Nikon D60
Lens: VR 55-200mm F/4-5.6G
Focal Length: 55mm
Focus Mode: AF-A
AF-Area Mode: Closest Subject
VR Control: ON

Aperture: F/6.3
Shutter Speed: 1/3s
Exposure Mode: Aperture Priority
Exposure Comp.: +0.3EV
Metering Mode: Matrix
Sensitivity: ISO 200

And here's the photo...

Attachments

• Rhiannon2.jpg
    Rhiannon2.jpg
    388.9 KB · Views: 105

Doylem

macrumors 68040
Dec 30, 2006
Wherever I hang my hat...
Pretty good, for your first attempt... though your daughter looks a bit bored (maybe dad was fiddling with his home-made lighting a bit too long ;)). Just keep on shooting...

Daremo

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jul 3, 2007
Chicago
Pretty good, for your first attempt... though your daughter looks a bit bored (maybe dad was fiddling with his home-made lighting a bit too long ;)). Just keep on shooting...

Hahaha! It was the end of shooting, and I asked her to put her hand on her chin like that, and she had said "Like I'm bored?" I said yes!

So, it WAS intentional, but I do believe a bit of truth as well. :)

bertpalmer

macrumors 6502
Apr 12, 2007
Yeah she does look a bit bored - unfortunatelty she is pushing her cheek up making one eye look a lot bigger than the other which isn't helped by the shadow.