Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gkgfamily

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 14, 2016
Santa Barbara
Hi, I know this is a TOTAL long-shot, but I'm wondering if anyone knows where I could find a really old Mac (Power Mac 8500 or similar) for purchase? I work as a graphic designer, and had an old one that I occasionally used for many years, that died, and still had some very old (but still important) graphics files for longtime clients. I realize it's a total dinosaur and most of you are probably cracking up at this quest, but I'm thinking that I might be able to use my existing hard drive on another machine and possibly be able to access the files. Sorry, I know this sounds pathetic, but just trying to figure out whether anything like this would even be available anymore. Is there a site to buy old Macs? I'm checking Craiglist, etc. but just wondering if there is something known by all the experts who might read this. THANKS! :)
(by the way, I have the monitor and keyboard, just would need the tower!)

Attachments

• power mac.jpg
    power mac.jpg
    17 KB · Views: 337

bunnspecial

macrumors G3
May 3, 2014
Kentucky
Not an unusual request at all.

Your existing HDD should be plug and play-just fire it up and and go.

To broaden your options somewhat, if file access is your only goal, you can also look at an 8600, 9600, 7300, or 7600. A 9500 would also work. The 8600 or 9600 would actually be my suggestion, as they are SIGNIFICANTLY easier to open and work on than the 8500. If you use the A/V functions at all, stick to an 8500 or 8600.